Review: A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

3473

Rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
Date read: March 2007
Read count: 1

This was just OK. Rather inoffensive, and therefore not memorable. There’s a sense that it’s trying too hard to pluck at the heartstrings, which left me mostly annoyed because I can’t stand books that are emotionally manipulative.

I wanted to see what all the fuss was about with this writer, and now I can sort of understand why people gravitate to Sparks’ books. They’re like a light home-cooked meal: comforting, easy to get through, don’t require much energy to digest. Sometimes it’s nice to relax with a book with these quality ingredients, but such a book is not for me and it all comes down to all matter of taste and how much energy a book requires of me as a reader. I like books that make me work for it, but if I’m stuck at an airport during a snowstorm and I lost my book and the only reading material is either a SkyMall magazine or bestsellers on a rack, I would go for a bestseller… after I finish the SkyMall.

Original review can be found here.

Leave a Reply

