Review: The Five Gates of Hell by Rupert Thomson

1165210

Rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
Date read: July, 2002
Read count: 1

I read this book when I was too young to understand the nature of, not only taking a life, but making a person suffer for life. It opened my eyes to the separation of personality and unusual behaviors. Sometimes nice, well-meaning people are capable of awful things, but we don’t want to think about that, much less imagine it. We never want to find ourselves in such a predicament either. Needless to say, this book left an impression that I still can’t shake off to this day. I think, if I had read this book when I was a few years older, I would’ve been able to appreciate its complexity and darkness more and handle it better.

Original review can be found here.

Leave a Reply

