Review: The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie

52873

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ½
Date read: July, 2005
Read count: 1

It’s been eight years since I last picked this book up. All I remember is that I enjoyed Alexie’s prose, youthful narration, and displaced characters. There’s a sense of unease running along silently through these short stories. I can’t pinpoint what it is about the writing that makes me uneasy, but it’s there. Moreover, there’s an honesty to these short stories that’s unlike any collection I’ve read. This was the book that made me interested in contemporary fiction and Native American life and reservations.

In the foreward, Alexie discusses his long road to professional writing and how he’s now finally “middle-class,” which is an achievement where he’s from, for someone of his background. And right away, a connection was formed between his stories and me.

Original review can be found here.

Leave a Reply

