Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

7937843.jpg (308×475)

Rating: (abandoned)
Date read: December, 2012
Read count:

Someone saw me reading this book in the lobby and wanted to save me from the hassle of getting to the end by spoiling it. Thank you, random stranger. I guess.

I think I got as far as the child’s first memory of the patterns on the walls or ceiling. Or maybe it was when it was revealed that the room was the whole world to the child. Up to that point, it was an interesting but uncomfortable read, and I couldn’t figure out why that was. Probably has much to do with the feeling of imprisonment. There’s a sense of suffocation I feel as I was reading. And then the story was spoiled and I realized that person had saved me a lot of valuable time because the ending was predictable.

Original review can be found here.

Leave a Reply

