Review: The Way of Shadows (Night Angel, #1) by Brent Weeks

3227063

Rating: ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
Date read: February 05 to 28, 2012
Read count: 1

I don’t often hand out 1-star ratings, but this book really deserves it.

What I was expecting:
Something along the line of Glen Cook’s Black Company trilogy.

What I got:
A juvenile story that’s trying really hard (and failing) to be contemporary grown-up fantasy.

A reviewer on Goodreads somewhere said it’s a teenage boy’s wet dream (pun intended?), and I completely agree with this assessment.

This is the last time I take a recommendation from a total stranger who just happened to be browsing and/or reshelving the same section I was browsing through.

Looking back, I should have just gone with my gut instinct and picked Joe Abercrombie’s First Law trilogy. The cover art is gorgeous.

Original review can be found here.

Leave a Reply

