Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

8442457

Rating: ★ ★ ½ ☆ ☆
Date read: February 15 to March 06, 2013
Read count: 1

All hype and all gimmick.

I finished this book mostly because I had to, and I have never wanted to burn a book more than I do now. The last time I felt this way about an assigned text was when I slogged through Atlas Shrugged in high school.

Scratch that. Not too long ago Defending Jacob inspired a similar book-burning feeling for about a week, but then it passed on. This book will soon follow.

The title Gone Girl should’ve been enough of a warning. Bestsellers that have gimmicky titles are often gimmicky themselves.

Anyhow. It started out slow and rambled on for about a hundred pages, and I was indifferent for the first half. Then it got a little interesting, though I stayed indifferent because, honestly, how involved can a reader be when the story is about a “first world problems” married couple who set out to ruin each others’ lives?

The title should’ve been First World Problems Girl.

[ETA]
OK, I concede. The prose is actually not that bad, which is consistent with Flynn’s style. She really does have a way with words, though not so much with story.

* * * * *

Still can’t get into this book no matter what, but I don’t hate it like I used to. Maybe it’s because I know what to expect this time around and don’t care about the outcome. Or maybe the narration makes much more sense this time around because I don’t care about the outcome.

Of course Amy’s “cool girl” monologue still holds a lot of truth. But also, these

It’s a very difficult era in which to be a person, just a real, actual person, instead of a collection of personality traits selected from an endless Automat of characters.

[…]

There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.

[…]

Love makes you want to be a better man—right, right. But maybe love, real love, also gives you permission to just be the man you are.

[…]

She’s easy to like. I’ve never understood why that’s considered a compliment–that just anyone could like you.

Gillian Flynn does words very well. I really like the way she handles them and the way she edges about as close to the truth as fiction would allow. It’s almost surreal, what she does with prose.

Leave a Reply

