Review: Divergent (Divergent, #1) by Veronica Roth

divergent-book-cover-image-396x600.jpg (396×600)

Rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
Date read: March 29 to April 02, 2013
Read count: 1

THIS is the reason I don’t trust anything labeled “dystopian,” and so “dystopian YA” makes me even more suspicious.

I’ll repeat what I said in my Hunger Games review:

authors who do not have a firm grasp on what a dystopian society is or how a dystopian government should act should stay away from dystopian narratives and futuristic fiction altogether.

That aside, the writing is not as bad as I’d thought. I wouldn’t go as far as to say it’s fun, but it’s fast paced enough to make you forget what a ridiculous flimsy dystopian society Chicago has become (will become?). So, it’s an energetic ride, but ultimately not believable in the least. Such a society would fold in on itself long before it can gain enough control of the population to divide people into personality-based groups. There are too many holes in the plot to deconstruct the story properly or take it seriously.

 

[ETA: 06/25]

OK, I concede. The writing is not that bad. Sometimes it’s even entertaining, but then you come across discrepancies in the plot and they pull you out of the story and then you remember how ridiculous the premise is.

* * * * *

Initially, after finishing Divergent, there was no way I’d continue the journey (further into post-world Chicago), and there was no way I’d touch the 2nd book, but then the final book’s end game was leaked (on almost every review blog), and now I’m kinda curious. With so many readers “up in arms,” it’s difficult not to take an interest. I’d very much like to know what all the yelling is about.

Leave a Reply

