Some thoughts re: Storm Front by Jim Butcher

Giving this book another try because I’ve been on an urban fantasy kick these past few weeks and would like to actually finish it. I hate leaving books I own unread, and people always tell me I’m missing out by not giving this series a chance, so now that’s what I’m gonna do. I might even reach the end this time, with help from James Marsters of course.

I tried the first chapter several times, but it just never clicked. For whatever reason I kept putting off the second chapter and then eventually abandoning the whole book altogether. Then I’d go on another UF bender kick, like now, and suddenly want to get through this damn book once and for all, if only to cross it off the DNF list.

The biggest obstacle is clearly Harry Dresden, wizard extraordinaire, and his good-guy personality. There’s just something inherently unlikable about him and I find his inner thoughts extremely annoying, which makes reading from his POV a real challenge. But then people keep saying the writing, including Dresden’s characterization, gets a lot better with each book. I’m inclined to believe them, and so here I am again, giving Storm Front another try.

ETA: Finished it. Here’s the review.

2 thoughts on “Some thoughts re: Storm Front by Jim Butcher

  1. stephswint August 25, 2014 / 12:37 pm

    I finished it, but I listened to it. There is a great audible version if you just can’t read it. I, however, didn’t like it enough to move further on in the series – even though I heard the same things you did, that after you get past the first two they get really good. If you finish one and two, let me know what you think. So far, I’ve decided I’d rather spend my time on other series, but I know so many people who love this one. Maybe I’m making a mistake.You will have to give me your insight.

    Like

    • 1stavenue August 25, 2014 / 9:41 pm

      Sure. Looks like we’re in the same boat though. Harry Dresden doesn’t strike me as the kind of character that’ll improve much over time, and Jim Butcher doesn’t seem like he has the skills to make Dresden any more appealing (or unappealing) than he already is, so I’m starting this book tentatively and not expecting much. If the second book is more of the same and it isn’t until the fourth or fifth book that things get interesting, then I might drop it after the third book. I’m giving it 3 books to impress me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

