ABC

Author you’ve read the most

In terms of number of pages, it’s Charles Dickens since I’ve read most of his books and each must be somewhere 700 to 900 pages (MMPB editions).

But in terms of number of works (including short stories, novellas, and sometimes essays), it’s Brandon Sanderson.

Though neither are authors I read anymore these days. I think after surpassing the 10,000-page mark I just got sick and tired of both authors, and it didn’t help that both are/were formulaic writers who have/had a tendency to rehash the same kinds of characters and problems. After a couple of books, starting a new one by either was like reading the previous one over again. The writing got too repetitive and predictable for me.

Best sequel

It’s a tie between Adulthood Rites by Octavia Butler and Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon. If I finish both authors’ body of work, Butler would become my most-read author in terms of number of works and Gabaldon in terms of number of pages.

Best cover art

Another tie, this time between Liz Williams’ Detective Inspector Chen series (original hardcover editions) and Martha Wells’ Books of the Raksura series.

 

Currently reading:

Three great books

8051458

The Reapers are the Angels (Reapers #1) by Alden Bell
Somber, eloquent, and quite beautiful. The writing style reminds me of early contemporary American. “Faulkner-esque” is what some reviewers call it. This book definitely rivals The Girl with All the Gifts in execution and could very well be the best post-apocalyptic book I’ve read this year.

15792925

Three Parts Dead (Craft Sequence #1) by Max Gladstone
A surprise, a pleasant surprise. I was lured in by the urban-fantasy-ness and blown away by the setting and world building. As a rule, I have low expectations for all urban fantasies, regardless of hype. So I went into this book expecting it to be average at best, but the depth and scope of Gladstone’s world building won me over. Looking forward to continuing this series.

22750124

Stories of the Raksura, Volume II by Martha Wells
What else is there left to say about this series that I haven’t said in my last two posts? When an author hits her stride, it shows in the strength of the narrative and the writing is simply wonderful. Wells just gets better and better with every new Raksura installment. I’d prefer a full-length novel because I just love the Three Worlds and every single character in it, but the short stories and novellas are just as great and fulfilling in their own way. The ones in this second volume fill in the gap between the previous books and from past events before Moon’s time, but these are more than just fillers because each story adds something new to the continuous arc and expand on wonders of the Three Worlds.

 

Lately I’ve been on a roll with my book choices and have come across a bunch of great ones these past few weeks, and I’d like to tell everyone about them, but there hasn’t been enough time to write. When I do have time, writing and reviewing just seem like too much work. And it doesn’t help that I’ve been writing a lot for work. Not fun things like books and new releases, but reports and proposals and answering dumb questions that anyone could find the answers to on google. *internally eye-rolling forever*. So the inclination to sit down and type out a post, no matter how short and to the point, makes me want to take a nap instead, even if it’s a post about books I actually enjoy.

And besides, it’s summer. There’s always something to do and dogs to walk and backyard gatherings to attend, if only for the free booze. Someone I know always wants to break out the grill and torch a few burgers every weekend that it’s not raining, and someone else always wants to have “a few people over” or go out and “try this new place,” and at least one other person always invite me to their kids’ birthdays–like why? I didn’t even know you had kids… but that’s beside the point.

The point is it’s summer and I have a short attention span. My reading list has been great and I want to let everyone know about all these awesome books I’m breezing through, but writing complete reviews isn’t something I can accomplish. So posts from now on will most likely be a mash-up of updates, short reviews, memes, and a few other things.

2 thoughts on “ABC

  1. thebookgator June 14, 2015 / 12:45 am

    I like the review mash-up and respect the summer grillin,’ dog-walkin’ and just hanging in the sun, although pretty much nothing could drag me to a birthday party of a kid I didn’t know. You’ve hit on a nice solution, but since I do so happen to like those three authors/books (Reapers, Gladstone, Wells) I’ll miss your in-depth thoughts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mimi June 15, 2015 / 3:49 pm

      Aww, thanks. A lot of rain is heading my way so I’ll have some time to post a proper review soon, hopefully. In the meantime, I’ll continue to walk dogs and dodge birthday parties lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

