A month of endings

+ My job is ending. Company got bought out by another company, and new management want to bring in their own people. Fine by me, but the problem is they want me to train my replacements. It’s one thing to let me go, it’s another thing entirely to make me do things I did not sign up for, literally. I don’t have to train my replacements; it’s in the contract. 🙂 But since they would like me to, we’ll have to “talk” it over. 😀

+ I doubt anything will come out of that talk though. New management has made it clear they don’t need any part of the old staff, which makes you wonder why they bought us in the first place, right? Apparently they just want our clients and data.

+ I’m not one to burn bridges, because I believe in keeping in contact with everyone you meet in the off chance that you might need to reach out to them later on, but from the way relations are devolving, I might have to light up this bridge after this is all over. There’s nothing left for me here, and the new company has made that clear.

+ So I’ve had a month to think and… I think I should go back to school. Nothing big really, just an advance certification in business tax. Yeah, it’s about as fun as it sounds…if you like taxes. If all goes well and I find that I can juggle school and work without too much struggle, I might take on a masters in forensics accounting. And after that, who knows, maybe something in international tax laws. But that’s way down the road. My life plans never go according to plan, so I’ll just have to see how I adjust to being back in the classroom first before making any more plans.

+ In the meantime, I won’t have a permanent job for awhile, which is a first. Instead, I will be a private consultant, another first and a step toward what I’ve always wanted to do–work for myself, on my own terms, with clients of my choosing, doing good work that actually means something to me. This feels like a step in the right direction.

+ One of my favorite professors, who became a mentor to me after graduation, died last week. He was 86 years young and taught until his very last breath, literally. He held lectures and seminars via Skype from his hospital bed. If I hadn’t seen it myself, I wouldn’t have believed it. Of course I discussed my termination with him and he went pffftttttt when I was done and said, “You’re better off without ’em.” Then he put me in touch with a few of his more successful former students who gave me the idea of going solo.

+ Going back to school, waking those halls again, will feel incredibly empty without the person who guided me through some of my toughest years. I was on campus the other day to finalize some paperwork, and I saw the whole student body mourning him. Everywhere I went, there were pictures of him, notes about him, his famous sayings tapped to walls and windows.

+ In light of everything that’s happened, I like to think I’m handling it all pretty well. Or maybe it hadn’t sunk in yet.

8 thoughts on “A month of endings

  1. Steph January 31, 2016 / 11:58 am

    You are dealing with loss. Obvious loss with your professor – keenly felt, and not so obvious loss with your job. The feelings surrounding it are complicated. They don’t appreciate you but are sure willing to take. I’m sorry any of this happened but it sounds like you have a good plan. At some point you will have to feel it all but a little dissociation to get through it won’t hurt.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mimi February 1, 2016 / 5:13 pm

      Thanks, Steph. I’m still processing all of it, that’s why it feels like it hasn’t sunk in yet. I’ll have to deal with it eventually, but later on in my own time, when things settle down a bit. So for now, dissociation helps a lot. It lets me get through the day with some ease.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Steph February 1, 2016 / 7:40 pm

        I’m a big fan of dissociation…at least for a little while. You’ll get to it in your own time

        Liked by 1 person

        • Mimi February 1, 2016 / 9:14 pm

          When I get there, I hope I’ll handle it well. Here’s to dissociation. *raises wine glass* heh

          Liked by 1 person

  2. thebookgator January 31, 2016 / 12:45 pm

    Thinking of you. Professional changes are hard, even when choosen. My local non-profit was bought out by a corporation that runs over ten hospitals over three states and it is not a change I’m welcoming. Giving yourself time to think, plan and perhaps embark on your project sounds fabulous. On another note, sounds like your professor was a wonderful man and teacher.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mimi February 1, 2016 / 5:45 pm

      Thanks, Carol. He was a person whose gift was teaching and whose passion was helping people find their passions. He went above and beyond for his students, and I’m blessed to have been apart of his life and legacy.

      Corporations ruin everything, especially non-profits, when they put a price on everything. I knew my little start-up would eventually be consumed, but I always pictured it would go to a corp that understood our history and goals. But, nope. It went to the highest bidder (of course) who will dismember and devour it in pieces. At least I won’t be around to see that happening.

      Good luck to you though. Hopefully yours won’t be as heartless since it deals in healthcare… oh, wait, scratch that…lol. We laugh to keep from giving up altogether.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. litanyliterature February 1, 2016 / 7:32 pm

    I always grew up thinking I’d work the same job for the rest of my life (one of those kiddie myths?) and it’s a relief to see your honesty in adjusting to change. Your professor sounds like he had a very important role in your life and a wonderful person. I hope you take whatever time or method you need to process things and choose the path you most want for yourself. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mimi February 1, 2016 / 10:05 pm

      Thanks, Jocelyn. I’m hanging in there. Change is inevitable; abrupt change is to be expected. The only way to deal with it is to be flexible, and of course it helps to be well connected too but that’s something else entirely.

      It’s not childish to think you’d have the same job all your life; that used to be the norm after all. However, in this day and age, it’s hard to find such a job. But it’s not childish to want to keep one job for the rest of your life; I think we all want that. It’s just not a possibility for many people anymore.

      Like

Leave a Reply

