Review: The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, #1) by Robert Jordan

7062520

Rating: ★ ★ ½ ☆ ☆
Date Read: January 17 to February 21, 2016
Recommended by: a lot of people
Recommended to:

Done. Finally.

It’s actually not that bad, or rather not as bad as I anticipated.

The first half or so is definitely a struggle to get through if you can’t get past all the Tolkien “homages”–they were basically what I couldn’t put aside every time I started this book only to abandon it a few days later. But the second half is a lot better, especially in terms of pacing and action. I found myself much more invested in the story once I figured out what the end game was… and also once I stopped comparing it to The Lord of the Rings.

Characterization is still a problem for me though, in that I don’t feel inclined toward any of the characters and furthermore not a single one of them is growing on me. For now it’s unlikely I’ll continue this series, but I kind of want to learn more about the dragon reborn mythology, so will keep the next book on the maybe list.

I should also mention that the only reason I even made it to the end of this book was because it rained all week (in the middle of February–the end really is nigh) and I had forgotten my ereader, and with it my newly purchased copy of Small Angry Planet, at a friend’s house.

 

*

* *

* * *

* * * * reading “progress” * * * *

@5%
Tolkien-esque? Tolkien-lite? Diet Tolkien? No… more like Tolkien on a budget. Like if The Lord of the Rings had been produced by the SyFy* channel on a fluctuating budget, this is what it would have looked like.

@10%
Does the Lord of the Rings-ness bother anybody else or just me?

@20%
I can’t help but see Tolkien everywhere. There’s homage and then there’s copyrights violations. Although to be fair, this book isn’t quite that bad… if you’ve never read the LotR.

still @20%
Gonna audiobook it.

still @20%
Narrated by Michael Kramer *headdesk*

Yeah… I’m never gonna finish this book, and Michael Kramer isn’t help at all. Actually I think he might have put the final nail in the coffin.

@25%
At what point does the story become interesting? Because I can’t imagine how much more derivative it can get and still be “interesting.”

@28%
None of the characters are growing on me. None. But since I have given lesser books with weaker characters the benefit of the doubt by finishing them (and then ranting and raving about them afterward), I’ll probably get through this one too. But not without comment. Will most likely grumble all the way to the end.

@30%
Must repeatedly ask myself why I’m still reading when nothing about the story holds any interest for me, and the answer is always because I want to know what other people see in it because they keep recommending it to me. But those recs are always about the series as a whole, not about this book specifically. People always brush aside, or sometimes intentionally never mention, how boring and derivative this one is.

@somewhere between 40 to 60%
I lost track when the Mountains of Dhoom made an appearance because… really? [insert previous comment about copyrights violations here]

Reading/slogging through this book is what I imagine being trapped in an actual echo chamber with Tolkien must feel like. But I must give credit where credit is due… to myself for making it this far. I far exceeded my expectations. With all the upheaval going on in real life right now, I didn’t expect to ever get past the 30% mark, but I did. I’m so very proud of myself, and now I will reward myself by pre-ordering ALL upcoming books in series I’m currently following. Such a wonderful feeling, going on a spending spree when you know you shouldn’t.

@somewhere around 70%
This book has taught me a great deal about myself that I otherwise would never have known, and that is the older I get, the less patience I have for derivative meandering high fantasies (and people too, to an extent). And that’s why Robert Jordan’s writing will never work for me.

 

* apologies for the SyFy riff. I’m aware the network has stepped up its game and, as a result, has been producing quality stuff in recent years, but I still think of it as the home of pulpy, hastily thrown together shows with terrible CGI.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, #1) by Robert Jordan

  1. thebookgator January 6, 2017 / 12:53 am

    Is it weird that I find the funniest part of your book review to be your apology to the SyFy channel for slighting it’s programming quality?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mimi January 6, 2017 / 12:00 pm

      Not weird at all. I think that’s the best part of my review too lol.

      I grew up with the Sci-Fi channel, so dissing it is second nature to me but I always have to apologize afterward.

      Like

Leave a Reply

