Review: One Fell Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #3) by Ilona Andrews

28756485

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Date Read: December 20 to 23, 2016
Recommended by:
Recommended to:

Still a lot of fun, and I’m pretty sure I’ll say that about the rest of the books in this series.

There’s something nice and comforting about the ease of the writing that makes it fun to read. I’ve never found myself bored while in the middle of these books, and if the writing maintains its pace, I’ll never get tired of following along with these characters on their journeys across the universe. The writing, now that I think about it, mimics the atmosphere of an inn out in the country, but only on the surface. Behind closed doors? It’s all intergalactic chaos, all the time.

Now that much of the setting and world building is out of the way, the focus of this book is on family, relationships and their multi-layered dynamics. Never thought I’d ever say this, but the relationships–old, new, developing alike–and their dynamics were what I liked best about this book. We get to see Dena reuniting with her sister Maud and niece Helen, and Sean and Dena is officially happening, and to my surprise, Maud and Arland getting acquainted is hilarious. I could definitely see a spin-off happening for these two.

And I cannot wait to see what’s gonna happen in the next installment. I know it’s currently being written chapter by chapter on the Ilona Andrews’ site, but I’d rather wait and inhale the whole thing in one sitting.

“Are you going to war, Lord Marshal?” Please don’t be going to war.
“No, I was attending a formal dinner.” He grimaced. “They make us wear armor to these things so we don’t stab ourselves out of sheer boredom.”

[…]

“You know what else chicks dig?”
“Subatomic vaporizers?”
“And werewolves. Chicks really dig werewolves.”
“Poor you, having to smack all of those chicks off with a flyswatter just to walk down the street.”

[…]

“He said to tell me that taking this holiday would make him happy. I don’t want him to be happy.” Lord Soren pounded his gauntleted fist into his other fist. “I want him to be an adult!”

[…]

Caldenia closed her wooden box and patted Arland’s leg. “Do get better. You’re much more entertaining when you roar.”

[…]

“Did you know Draziri taste like chicken?” I asked.
Sean glanced at me, as if not sure if I was okay. “I had no idea.”
“Orro told me,” I told him. “We’re besieged by murderous poultry.”

[…]

Even Caldenia stayed away, which was for the best, because I didn’t want to explain Her Grace and her comments about the deliciousness of werewolves to Sean’s parents.

[…]

People do horrible things in the name of keeping things just the way they are.

*

* *

* * *

* * * some spoilers * * *

– Maud and Helen are a nice addition to Gertrude Hunt. Never thought I’d say this either, but the kid’s not bad. I like Maud’s backstory and would like to know more about how she survived being married to a vampire and living among them for all those years, and now raising a half-vampire child on her own.

– I totally did not see Arland falling for Maud, but it makes sense and I now totally support this pairing. But hopefully the hilarious courting rituals go on for awhile longer because Maud and Dena still have some catching up to do, and then there’s the matter of finding their parents.

– Sean and Arland becoming in-laws? Gonna be hilarious for sure.

– Calendia, Orro, Beast, and the Ripper of Souls are all present and still hilarious.

Two things

– The first one being the ending felt too rushed. I would’ve liked to see more of the Hiru’s new planet. As for the murderous poultry, I would’ve liked to see more of them too, particularly the aftermath of their religious war. How does their whole planet reconcile with the truth of the Hiru now that they all know their religion is a sham?

– The other thing is Gertrude Hunt’s location. It would make more sense to me for the inn to be further out in the country–more fitting for purpose of such an inn–and away from densely populated areas such as a subdivision because of all the intergalactic chaos dropping in on Dena unannounced.

Leave a Reply

